Going hard… too hard

Last week I took a few days to recover after slightly overdoing it the week before. On the Monday I did about 10K with my friend and we did some pretty big hills (which my body isn’t used to). We took turns pushing his son in a stroller, so we went a bit slower than we’re both used to running. Wednesday I did an easy 5K, Thursday I did 8km of hill sprints, Friday I did a pretty easy 10K, then the following Monday I did another 11K. Essentially I did a bit more than a full marathon (44km) over the span of a week and it left me feeling less than stellar. Legs were sore and stiff, body wasn’t adjusting to the amount of food I needed to eat, my whole body was achy and in need of a massage. It was a great reminder of how important it is to take your time working your way up in mileage. It was also a real eye opener as to how hard running that distance in a matter of 4 hours will be on my body and the amount of training and preparation I’m going to need to do. I’m quite glad I’ve given myself a year to work my way up to there.

At this point I’ve given myself some rather optimistic goals, but haven’t set anything in stone. My primary goal is to be able to run the full marathon without stopping or dying. I feel like I’ll be quite disappointed if the race takes me more than 4 hours, but that’s approximately the time that my current aerobic threshold is adding up to (I picked that up from this site). That would allow me to run slightly slower than I’ve run my two half marathons in the past. I would love to be able to run the marathon in less than 3.5 hours, but know that I have a lot of work to do do if I want to get to that type of pace. I’d be over the moon if by the end of this training I felt that I could pace myself to qualify for Boston with a time under 3:05:00, but have also realised that this would require me to run my fastest 5K time 8.5 times in a row and doesn’t seem too likely for my first marathon.

Speaking of fastest 5K. I’m hoping to simulate a 5K race (against myself) in the near future to see if I can get a new PB and figure out my true aerobic threshold at this time.

Leave a Reply

